Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Ubiquity Press Advisory Board is a network of experts who have agreed to provide advice and guidance in areas such as technology, open access, and publishing policy.

Dr Paul Ayris

Paul AyrisDr Paul Ayris has been Director of UCL Library Services since 1997. He is also the UCL Copyright Officer. Dr Ayris is the President of LIBER (Association of European Research Libraries) and is also Secretary of the SPARC-Europe Board. He co-chairs the OAI Organizing Committee for the CERN Workshops on Scholarly Communication. He is a member of the JISC's Electronic Information Resources Working Group and was, until recently, a member of the NSF-funded Blue Ribbon Task Force on economically-sustainable digital preservation. He has a PhD in Ecclesiastical History and publishes on English Reformation Studies.

Professor David De Roure

David De RoureDavid De Roure is a Professor of e-Research in the Oxford e-Research Centre and National Strategic Director for Digital Social Research. His research projects draw on Web 2.0, Semantic Web, workflow and pervasive computing technologies and he focuses on the co-evolution of digital technologies and research methods in and between multiple disciplines. These include digital humanities (computational musicology), social sciences (social statistics), chemistry (smart labs), bioinformatics (in silico experimentation) and environmental science (sensor networks).

In Open Science he advocates sharing methods and Research Objects, and runs the social website. He has an extensive background in Web and Linked Data and is a champion for the Web Science Trust, with a focus on the Internet of Things. He has been closely involved in the UK e-Science programme and is chair of the UK e-Science Forum. In 2011 he was elected as a Research Fellow at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Maeve McKeown

Maeve McKeownMaeve McKeown is a Political Theory PhD student at University College London (UCL). Her research interests include global justice, feminism, responsibility, historical injustice, and inclusion. She is a Co-Editor for the New Left Project Her blog applies political theory to her involvement in student activism. Maeve has also worked extensively in theatre and is co-author of the book Page to Stage: Our Country’s Good, with theatre director Max Stafford-Clark.

Dr Rufus Pollock

Rufus PollockDr Rufus Pollock is co-Founder and Director of the Open Knowledge Foundation, a Shuttleworth Foundation Fellow, and an Associate of the Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law at the University of Cambridge. He has worked extensively as a scholar and developer on the social, legal and technological issues related to the creation and sharing of knowledge. He has contributed heavily to projects such as Comprehensive Knowledge Archive Network (CKAN), Where Does My Money Go, Open Data Commons, and Open Shakespeare.

Jason Priem

Jason PriemJason is a 3rd-year doctoral student in information science at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, studying how the Web is revolutionizing scholarly communication. Jason helped build and promote the altmetrics movement, investigating new measures of scholarly impact on the social Web, and is a co-developer in the open-source total-impact project, building a tool to gather alternative measures. He tweets at @jasonpriem.

Carol Priestley

Carol PriestleyCarol Priestley was Founder and Director of the International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP) from 1992 to 2007 and is currently Director of the Network for Information & Digital Access (NIDA). Although now based in Oxford, UK, Carol has spent many years working in both Asia and Africa. She has a background in Earth Sciences, and her career has largely been within the international development sector.

Her particular interest is that all people are able to access, utilise and contribute information, ideas and knowledge necessary to support sustainable and equitable development. She was centrally involved in the establishment of a number of publishing support activities, including the Journals Online (JOL) project and AuthorAid. Carol was awarded an MBE in 2007 for her services to science in developing and transitional countries.

Andrew Waller

Andrew WallerAndrew Waller is Licensing and Negotiation Librarian in the Collections unit at the University of Calgary, Canada, where he does the licensing work for e-journals and other electronic resources. He is also the Open Access Librarian in the Scholarly Communication Centre at the University of Calgary. Andrew has regularly written on and spoken about open access over the last several years. He is one of the people behind the Open Access Librarian blog and is a Canadian editor for the open access repository for library and information science, E-LIS. In 2011 he was named Open Access Advocate of the Year in BioMed Central's Research Awards.

Dr Anthony Watkinson

Anthony WatkinsonAnthony Watkinson is part-time lecturer at University College London (UCL). His central interest is in the transition between scholarly communication in print and scholarly communication in digital form and with the interactions between different players in the information chain finding their feet in the digital environment. He has written on Electronic Solutions to the Problems of Monograph Publishing, Securing Authenticity of Scholarly Paternity and Integrity and most recently on Open Access with special reference to funding models.

For thirty years Anthony held senior management positions in a number of leading publishers including Academic Press (editorial director), Oxford University Press (head of journals), Chapman and Hall (publishing director), Thomson Science and Professional (intellectual property director), and Wiley-Blackwell (global dentistry publisher). He is on the organising committee of the Annual Charleston Conference, on the editorial board of ASLIB Proceedings and the Charleston Advisor, and is a member of the JISC EBook Working Group.